A Serious Breakfast

Idea: Film Awards Season Survivor Pool.

Instead of teams, you select category winners.

You cannot repeat a category or its equivalent, so if you select an "Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture" for the Screen Actors Guild Awards, you cannot later select a "Best Picture" for the Oscars.

The gauntlet, in order:

Gotham Awards
New York Film Critics Circle winners
National Board of Review winners
Los Angeles Film Critics Association winners
National Society of Film Critics winners
Golden Globe Awards
Critics Choice Awards
Directors Guild of America Awards
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Film Awards
Screen Actors Guild Awards
Film Independent Spirit Awards
Producers Guild of America Awards
American Society of Cinematographer Awards
American Cinema Editors Eddie Awards
Writers Guild of America Awards

If you survive until the Oscars, you should know what will likely win, but will any lay-ups still be available to select?

The guild awards force you to be strategic.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *